See where your fingers take you

It’s beneficial to structure your practice sessions. By doing this you can make progress with new technique’s, difficult pieces and more. However, after reading this post from NoTreble I thought “what if I don’t structure this practice session? How about I see where my fingers take me!”

I’m very glad I tried this! I played through tunes I haven’t played in years. Some of them were just plain fun and brought back memories of good times. Also I played others that used to be difficult but aren’t any more! I also hit record on my little Zoom H2N recorder and just jammed new riffs, didn’t care where I started and didn’t know where I was going! A few nice riffs came out of nowhere.

It reminded me why I play music in the first play, for the enjoyment. We can get bogged down in theory, technique and learning and forget that playing music is fun!

So next time you sit down to practice don’t take out your practice plan, just pick up your instrument and see where your fingers take you.

Tom

Posted in general, Practice

Leave a Reply

