What’s your mental approach?

mindkey-300x300

How you approach a task greatly influences many aspects of the task, including whether you will succeed or not and how much you will enjoy the task. I learned from Victor Wooten’s book The Music Lesson and Gerald Klickstein’s book The Musicians Way that using the correct mental approach can make a task much easier to complete. And also much more enjoyable, cause at the end of the day that is a major part of why we play music.

Years ago when I was learning new music or working on theory/technique I could be heard saying such things as “Wow, this looks hard” and “There’s so much stuff here, how am I going to get through it all?” Straight away I was starting at a disadvantage. I had started  with the mental approach that I was destined to fail. By changing your initial assessment of a task can greatly improve your chances of success.

Anymore when I’m learning a new piece of music or working on a lesson I’ll stop myself and say things like, “I don’t know how to do this yet” and “How can I break this down into small manageable chunks of work?” If you go in with the attitude that you will succeed, more often than not you will. That positive approach can do wonders, and not only in music, you can apply this way of thinking to any part of your life, “I’m going to get that promotion”,”I will give up cigarettes.”

I hope you will put this into practice and in no time you will see the benefits.

Tom

Posted in general, Suggestions for improvements

Leave a Reply

